DDL (Direct Download Links)

Problems, requests or comments regarding forums or the main site go here.
ptguardian

DDL (Direct Download Links)

Post by ptguardian »   0 likes

DDL links if allowed to be the norm here will only cause problems and should 'only' be provided if you can't share on emule . Any DD links that one does post should also be confirmed by the person posting them. I think they are beneficial to get a movie here but don't think they should be permanent. Making them permanent takes away the effectiveness of emule. Emule is why we have files that have been here since 2004.

I have lots of experience with DDL and know of many disadvantages that they have. To name just a few. They die! Many contain rar or zip files that can include anything such as wrong movie or worse a virus. Free users are very limited and to pay a service leaves a money trail. When we find DDL they are often from one of many services. Some of these services are honey traps and they don't exactly advertise which ones they are.

I know some of the obvious advantages such as sometimes it is the only way to get a file.

What are some other advantages is what I would like discussed. Please feel free to express how you feel about them.
mimzy

Re: DDL (Direct Download Links)

Post by mimzy »   1 likes

Here's an actual example:

Somebody posts a really interesting movie as DDL. Another member downloads it and posts an ed2k
link. Now, since there is an ed2k link, the original DDL is deleted by an admin. If I was late and missed the DDL, I'd have to spend days for downloading this movie via ed2k (because the member who shares has really poor bandwidth) instead of downloading the DDL in few minutes :wall

After some time, nobody will be sharing the file anymore, but the DDL link *might* still work, except it was deleted :wall